Roamin Angel Logo
Club News

Report from Bob Stearns, President, ACCC

home page
About the Club
Our Cars
Club news
Club Calendar
Annual Car Show
Club Projects
Scrapbook, Stories, Memories
Car laws
swap n sell
Heaven's Hwy
Links & Resources
Site Map


Join Us on

The first month of the new year is ending and 2019 may be critical year for California because of the new laws.

California Assembly Bill (A.B.) 1824, which was signed into law by then-Governor Jerry Brown in June of 2018 went into effect on January 1, 2019. The bill has generated significant concern among the online enthusiast community. Despite what is being circulated, enactment of A.B. 1824 does not change existing laws pertaining to exhaust noise or sale and installation of aftermarket exhaust systems.

Under existing law, exhaust systems installed on motor vehicles with a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating of less than 6,000 pounds, other than motorcycles, may not exceed a sound level of 95-decibels when tested under Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) test procedure J1169 (May 1998). This was not changed by A.B. 1824.

A.B. 1824 amended how excess exhaust noise violations are handled by law enforcement. Beginning this year, a vehicle cited for violating the current exhaust noise law will no longer receive what is known as a “fix-it” ticket. Instead, violations will result in an immediate fine.

Consumers in receipt of a violation still have the option of seeking a certificate of compliance from the California Bureau of Automotive Repair (BAR) demonstrating that their exhaust emits no more than 95-decibels. This SEMA-sponsored program allows courts to dismiss citations for exhaust systems that have been tested and for which a certificate of compliance has been issued. There is a petition to nullify fines for loud mufflers

Other California's new traffic fine rules were released on January 1, 2019:
Forget to carry your driver's license fine $214.
Forget to change the address (more than ten days) $214.
Uninsured car in an accident fine $796, driver's license revoked for 4 years.
Did not stop at red light or turning right at No Turn on Red $533.
Crossing double yellow line fine $425.
Violation of the turn or U-turn $284.
Speeding 1-15 miles $224; 16-25 miles $338; usually the police determine if the speed is over 5 miles. On rainy day it is not allowed to exceed 65 miles.
Stop sign but did not stop $284.
Pass the flashing light of school bus $675.
Talking on cell phone first time $76; second time $190; same penalty even if you are just holding the cell phone in your hand!
Not stopping at a bus stop $976.
Not wearing a seat belt $160. Driving with high beam light (from 30 points) for $382.
Child not wearing a seat belt or not in a child seat $436.
Covering car door $178.
Driving with headphones on $178.
Modified exhaust $1000 each stop.

All the above violations allow you to go to traffic school for 8 hours. If you get a second ticket within 18 months, sorry, you are not a Good Driver and this will drive up your insurance rate.

I will continue to be the President of the ACCC even after moving to Nevada this Spring. I will be available to attend and coordinate the 2019 Annual Legislative Conference in April at the California Automobile Museum and will continue to coordinate the ACCC annual SEMA Show group to Las Vegas.

There were some changes to ACCC Board of Directors for 2019:
Appointed to ACCC Board of Directors (effective Jan 1, 2019)
Sheldon Jurist - Vice President/Director
Sheila Jurist - Secretary/Director
Resigned from Board of Directors (effective Jan 7, 2019)
Jane Hudgins -Membership/Director

I am looking working with the Roamin Angels and all other car clubs in California to keep our vehicles on the road.
Cruise Safe.
Bob Stearns
ACCC President

FIRST RESPONDER BREAKFASTS: Nevada County SheriffsCAL FireCar Show & Beyond
Report From the ACCCBlast From The Past: 2001 Car Show at Rollins Lake

Roamin Angels, Inc. is a not-for-profit organization.
Contents of this site are property of Roamin Angels, Inc. ©2019